Jump to content


Photo

exe to avi conversion


  • Please log in to reply
11 replies to this topic

#1 SV1SK4

SV1SK4

    New Member

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 3 posts

Posted 20 October 2007 - 05:56 PM

is there a program for converting my old exe slideshows into an avi/mpeg file
thanks

#2 mightec

mightec

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 455 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Hertfordshire, UK
  • Interests:Web Design, Photography, Digital Audio Visual, Video Editing, Golf

Posted 20 October 2007 - 09:30 PM

I have just done a search on google and came up with the following.

http://www.download....4-10154100.html
Regards
Mike

Visit My Website

#3 Conflow

Conflow

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,946 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Dublin. Ireland.
  • Interests:Electronic Controls.
    R&D Foto Reports.
    PC Applications.

Posted 21 October 2007 - 02:23 PM

SVISK4,

I am not too sure that I understand you correctly ~
Do you want to convert an existing PTE.Slideshow into an AVI File directly from the Slideshow Exe File....??

Yes, such types software exist, but to my knowledge you can't convert the actual EXE.File to an AVI File.
However "AOA Media" supply Software to convert DVD to AVI and Video to AVI but I cant be certain that
this will work with a PTE Slideshow to AVI. Contact them and send a small PTE Show to see if its possible.
"See Attachment" and "Link" to their Website.

AoA Media are one of the leading Software Manufacturers in Video Technology.

Brian.Conflow.

http://www.aoamedia.com/

Attached Thumbnails

  • AoA.gif


#4 tom95521

tom95521

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,386 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Arcata, California

Posted 21 October 2007 - 06:51 PM

Hi,

The program I have utilized is FRAPS http://www.fraps.com/ .

It's main use is display directx frames per second for comparing video card performance. It does also support avi capture that can create very large files because it can't encode in real time. After capturing you can convert to mpg/divx/h.264. You must have a large amount of free disk space but the results can be very good.

Tom

Life is not measured by the number of breaths we take, but the moments that take our breath away.

My Local Time

http://time.is/Arcata
My Blog
http://tom95521.blogspot.com/


#5 Ken Cox

Ken Cox

    Advanced Member

  • Moderator
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 7,878 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:SARNIA ON CA

Posted 21 October 2007 - 10:18 PM

Mike
quote
" have just done a search on google and came up with the following.

[url="http://www.download.com/Exe2Avi/3000-2194_4-10154100.html""]http://www.download.com/Exe2Avi/3000-2194_...4100.html"[/url]

i have the download but same will not convert a pte generated exe - suspect it is only to be used with some of their other programs

ken
PTE USER GUIDE COMPLETED, PDF format PicturesToExe User Guide,PTE V5 Tutorial Link to tutorial's below:
http://www.lin-evans...ide81707pdf.zip
http://www.wnsoft.com/
http://www.wnsoft.com/download.htm
http://www.wnsoft.com/apr/useful.htm
http://www.wnsoft.com/apr/help.htm
http://www.picturest...showtopic=10889
"share your knowledge, the wheel has already been invented" pbyk@sympatico.ca
SARNIA
ONTARIO CANADA
Kirov Russia time -- Igor's home
http://www.worldtime..._in_RU-KIR.aspx
KIrov Russia Weather
http://weather.yahoo...RSXX0175_f.html

#6 Conflow

Conflow

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,946 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Dublin. Ireland.
  • Interests:Electronic Controls.
    R&D Foto Reports.
    PC Applications.

Posted 22 October 2007 - 02:38 AM

Hi,

The program I have utilized is FRAPS http://www.fraps.com/ .

It's main use is display directx frames per second for comparing video card performance. It does also support avi capture that can create very large files because it can't encode in real time. After capturing you can convert to mpg/divx/h.264. You must have a large amount of free disk space but the results can be very good.

Tom


Hi Tom,
Are you sure that "Fraps" will open-up a PTE.Exe File ?...or does is simply capture a "playing" Exe ?
The reason I ask is that 'Granots Program' and others do exactly the same job of Screencapture of PTE
and the quality of this is dependent on the screen-resolution of the Monitor, (ie:-The signals coming from
the VGA Adapter). This simple method will not produce a Hi-Res AVI.

I agree with Ken, I do not know of any worthwhile Program which is capable of de-compiling a PTE.Exe in
order to extract its JPeg contents so one can make a quality AVI File. One would have to know the PTE source code to do that !

I vaguely remember an Admin thread from Igor ~ he said that he was looking into that possibility for PTE.5xxx

I did have a look at the "Fraps Program" which is geared to Video ~ perhaps we are all missing something here ~ could you give more details about this Software as this problem has turned up on this Forum more times than I care to remember ??

Brian.Conflow.

#7 tom95521

tom95521

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,386 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Arcata, California

Posted 22 October 2007 - 02:39 PM

Of course you are right Brian. It doesn't open the .exe and convert it directly to .avi. The original poster wanted to know how to convert from .exe to .avi/.mpg. FRAPS does a better job capturing full screen than most other video capture programs. The large .avi file it creates can then be encoded to whatever format you want with other software.

As to the potential video resolution of FRAPS capture all I can say is check out some of the sample videos on their web site. My definition of high resolution video is anything greater than 800x600.

I know copying images is a sensitive subject for professional photographers so I will not comment on extracting the source images from the .exe. :unsure:

Tom

Life is not measured by the number of breaths we take, but the moments that take our breath away.

My Local Time

http://time.is/Arcata
My Blog
http://tom95521.blogspot.com/


#8 Conflow

Conflow

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,946 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Dublin. Ireland.
  • Interests:Electronic Controls.
    R&D Foto Reports.
    PC Applications.

Posted 22 October 2007 - 11:48 PM

Tom,

Good man yourself ~ many thanks for the reply, that explains all ~ so in reality
it is a good Screencapture Utility (some of them are awful) as to whether SVIFK
can accept that I dont know. I had visited the site but didn't download anything.

I love your definition of Hi-Res...anything above 800x600...in fairness that
sometimes works better than Big Res!

All the best...
Brian.

#9 tom95521

tom95521

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,386 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Arcata, California

Posted 23 October 2007 - 04:07 PM

After some testing with older ver. 4 slideshows it seems FRAPS only supports DirectX/Open GL capture. PTE 4.n slideshows do not utilize DirectX. It might work on Vista because Vista Windows Desktop Manager uses DirectX. I think the other video screen capture programs have a lower fps capture rate than FRAPS.

Oh well, I tried.
Tom

Life is not measured by the number of breaths we take, but the moments that take our breath away.

My Local Time

http://time.is/Arcata
My Blog
http://tom95521.blogspot.com/


#10 SV1SK4

SV1SK4

    New Member

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 3 posts

Posted 25 October 2007 - 05:41 PM

thanks to everybody who helped with this question.
looks like i,m going to have to get a video screen grabber

#11 Ken Cox

Ken Cox

    Advanced Member

  • Moderator
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 7,878 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:SARNIA ON CA

Posted 25 October 2007 - 11:04 PM

svhs + an audio cable output from graphic/video card to a dvd recorder/tv setup
ken
PTE USER GUIDE COMPLETED, PDF format PicturesToExe User Guide,PTE V5 Tutorial Link to tutorial's below:
http://www.lin-evans...ide81707pdf.zip
http://www.wnsoft.com/
http://www.wnsoft.com/download.htm
http://www.wnsoft.com/apr/useful.htm
http://www.wnsoft.com/apr/help.htm
http://www.picturest...showtopic=10889
"share your knowledge, the wheel has already been invented" pbyk@sympatico.ca
SARNIA
ONTARIO CANADA
Kirov Russia time -- Igor's home
http://www.worldtime..._in_RU-KIR.aspx
KIrov Russia Weather
http://weather.yahoo...RSXX0175_f.html

#12 SV1SK4

SV1SK4

    New Member

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 3 posts

Posted 31 October 2007 - 09:30 PM

svhs + an audio cable output from graphic/video card to a dvd recorder/tv setup
ken

spent the evening getting my computer to talk to my dvd recorder and this could be what i,ve been wanting to do in a roundabout way.
i,m now getting the picture OK on the screen ready for recording just need a cable for transferring the sound as well.
once again thanks to everyone with their suggestions




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users