WnSoft Forums

time and software obsolescence

Daveo

I have been using PTE now for about 6 months and have made 8 slide shows that I am very pleased with. I have invested a good bit of time producing these shows and now worry that as technology and software moves forward I could face having my work lost as I become unable to run them on tomorrow's platforms or operating systems. I suppose this was the one (and possibly the only) advantage to the old photo album approach to archiving your photographs.

Has there been any discussion on how to keep our PTE presentations current or must I assume in 10 years the slide shows I enjoy today on my PC will no longer be functional? Of course I have the original raw and Jpeg images but recreating a show would probably be prohibiitive to start from scatch again.

Thoughts from anyone on this topic? Regards, Dave

If you'll allow me to step in here, Igor, while you are formulating your response, I have a suggestion which might help.

One of the things on my 'wish list' in another thread on this forum was for a table of image titles, dissolve (transition) times, and times from the start for each sequence, etc., which could be printed out (or even saved as a text data file).

Then, having the original jpegs saved safely away, it should be possible to readily recreate the show in any new system that comes along, provided that system also allowed one to input this data at least manually (or, better still, as an electronic data base).

Ciao,

Al

:rolleyes: .... just don't throw out your old PC... Get a marking pen, and write on the side "PTE"... and store it in a closet somewhere...Then when you want to show your old shows ten years from now, you have a dedicated platform!

(That's a dad talking, who just witnessed the kids opening this year's Christmas Loot... left wondering how long all *that* will last!)

Hope you all have a great New Years!

Brian