WnSoft Forums

Zoom H1

Boogie

I have been using the Zoom H1 recorder for a few months now and found it very suitable for AV work.

It doesn't have all the bells and whistles that the more expensive Zoom models have, but it is small, very portable and gives a good recording.

I have just seen on the Zoom Website that from 22 Dec 2011, the firmware has a free upgrade to V2.00 (mine was V1.1) which now a USB Audio Interface function

See www.zoom.co.jp for the Download Upgrade and details.

I have now downloaded the Zoom H1 v2.00 upgrade which is a zip file in which is a bin file (H1MAIN.bin) and a pdf file (the pdf descibes the new features with USB audio interface),

Despite reading all the directions in the manual, I had a problem installing the new v2.00. I finally managed it. The solution was to copy just the H1MAIN.bin file to the root of the H1 when in USB mode. I hope this helps if anyone is following my footsteps!!

Boogie

Thanks for this, I missed the update.

I use both the H4N and the H1 and really like the H1 for travel.

The door to access the micro SD card is quite flimsy, mine fell off opening it for the first time.

Kieron

Hi Boogie,

Having read your post, and used the web address to track down updates for my Zoom H4, I'm now trying to update the software in my Zoom H4 and getting nowhere fast! I've followed the instructions on the web page but it isn't doing what they said it would do. At least the device is still working on its old software! I've e-mailed them but don't hold out too much hope. Will report back any progress - positive or negative.

regards,

Peter

Thanks for this, I missed the update.

I use both the H4N and the H1 and really like the H1 for travel.

The door to access the micro SD card is quite flimsy, mine fell off opening it for the first time.

Kieron

I usually use the USB cable with the H1 - it then acts like a card reader, so I don't need to remove the micro SD card.

Boogie