WnSoft Forums

Sound

Paul

Hi All and Happy New Year,

I am new to AV and this forum so please forgive the obvious question.

I have made a few sequences, weddings, holidays etc. and used simple but effective sound tracks using mp3s.

What media do most folks use for recording more adventurous sequences, e.g outside live sounds, traffic, waterfalls, general crowd sounds? Also for mixing and editing sounds does everyone use cool edit or conventional equipment like MD.

Paul.

Hi Paul,

welcome to the forum.

Edit and mix your sound effects in wav format.

You can use any software, that fullfills this task.

Most of this sound-effects editing and mixing

can even be done in Microsofts audiorecorder,

which already is part of your windows.

Audacity is a fairly good sound program for editing

and mixing more complex sequences, as is GoldWave.

Before implementing your edited and mixed wavs into PTE,

convert them into mp3, using a low bitrate like 64 for

most soundeffects, which is not recommended for music.

Most music requires 128 in order not to loose quality.

This way, you cut down tremendously on your PTE file size.

Hi Paul! Welcome, and happy new year!

Forgive me Rudi, I think our new friend wishes some additional information.

Nothing obvious in your question, Paul. I think quite nobody here records his sounds, and especially "adventurous" sounds like traffic etc.

Usually all PTE users make a soundtrack with an mp3 music file (cutted, or mixed), and it's all. Sound effects are rarely used.

Let me start by your second question. I think most used software to edit (but above all to mix) sounds are "Audacity", a free, little but very good editor, and Acoustica mp3 Audio Mixer (very convenient and simple mixer, shareware $24.95). Someone likes better more sophisticated audio editors, like CoolEdit (very good) and Goldwave (cheaper, but very interesting).