WnSoft Forums

(SOLVED) Output audio level is low compared to others

Rick Strong

PTE Deluxe 8.0.1

I was at an AV meeting tonight that presented over 20 programs from PTE and Pro Show Producer. All the programs except mine ran at a good, solid sound level. Mine was so weak I had to ask the computer operator to crank it up. Any ideas why the audio from my show might be low?

- I had normalized all the tracks (3 of them) in Audacity before they went into the show which was published to MP4.

- The show had a good sound level on my system.

- Would putting a tone in front help the operator to get a proper level for playback?

TIA.

Guest Yachtsman1

Hi Sam

That's a tough one, there are so many imponderables to consider. I've been using PTE & Audacity since 2007 done loads of public shows using outside equipment & can only recall two instances where the sound level of my show had problems. One was where the jack connection to the speakers was loose & not giving a stereo connection & one where I had inadvertently recorded the show in mono & was trying to play back in stereo.

You mentioned that you had normalised your 3 tracks, did you then produce a single track from the 3 tracks, or use the 3 tracks separately in PTE. I have attached a copy of my Audacity/normalise settings, do yours look like these? Finally

why did you normalise the tracks, were you getting signs of clipping? see my Youtube tutorial.

Yachtsman1.

post-5560-0-18149000-1424335434_thumb.jp

Were all of the shows mp4?

If not then yours was being subjected to two volume controls - the vol control of the media player and the master volume.

Exe files are only controlled by the master volume control.

DG

P.S. I make the assumption that your show was, as you said, properly set up.

Yachtsman1 : I normalized the tracks because the original audio levels varied greatly and I amplified one of them (wind in trees). It was done the same way you show: to -1.0 dB. The 3 tracks were separate in PTE.