WnSoft Forums

MultiShow Revisited

nickles

About six months ago, Granot released a very nice PTE slideshow player called "MultiShow". For newer PTE users that are not familiar with this software....a screenshot can be found here:

MultiShow Screenshot

I and several friends have used this software to distribute our slideshows on CD's to friends and relatives (I'm just an amateur photographer that uses PTE to bore my acquaintances with my work). The program can be downloaded from Granot's Website here:

MultiShow Download

After several months of usage...I have a couple of very trivial modifications to the software that I would like to see Granot implement. I will use this thread to solicit your opinions and if you have any suggestions for other modification please speak out.

1. When MultiShow starts it generates the following message:

"You can temporarily install presentations and run them from your Hard Drive. This may take few minutes to install and will result in better performance.

Do you want to temporarily install presentations?"

"yes or no ?"

Unfortunately many of the people I send CDs to aren't very computer saavy. I've had a couple of people call me an ask what to do? Of course I tell them if the show plays ok when you answer no don't worry about it.

I would like this message to be optional.

One suggestion would be as follows:

If in the cfg.ini we set the following line:

Install Presentations=0

Which indicates that the shows are not to be installed on the HD...can you prevent this message from appearing, if the above setting of 0 is made? Many people that I distribute PTE slideshows are confused by this message and aren't sure how to respond. Every one that I deal with have CD players that are fast enough without installing shows on their HD.

Another option would be to automatically install the show and indicate that the show is loading in the slideshow information window.