WnSoft Forums

How to fade the music?

LigiaD

Hi all!

I am new to PTE. I already learnt how to create a simple slide show; however, I would like to create one that will have several segments and with different music for each. How do I synchronize the music for each segment and how do I fade it? I would appreciate it your letting me know or, please direct me to the place where I could find this information.

Thanks very much! ------------- Ligia

Hi, Ligia,

Welcome to PTE and the Forum! This is a great program, and with the development and beta release of version 5, these are exciting times for both newcomers, and the "old hands" who have been using it for years!

One way to incorporate several music selections and divide the show into segments, is to add the music, then identify the images which will make up the start and end of each segment. If you are adding separate music files, then the transition between them will be marked by blue vertical lines on the timeline. If you want the music selections to fade in and out, you will have to "trim" and "fade" each one first in another program called a "sound editor" (e.g. "Audacity", "Audition", etc.)

The appropriate images can be spread evenly across each segment on the timeline by highlighting the first transition in the segment by clicking on the grey number on the timeline which represents it, and then "shift-clicking" on the rectangle for the last image in the segment (e.g. "to 10"). When highlighted, the transition markers will turn dark blue. Then select "Timed Points / Arrange selected points" to spread the transitions evenly over that segment.

You may have to add or subtract some images in order to make them "fit" the music. Or, you may have to truncate a music selection in the sound editor to make it fit with the number of images desired.