WnSoft Forums

Camera Selection

jrb

O.K. I know there are an awful lot of folks that know a lot about photography and digital camera in this forum and I need your help. I'm just beginning my search for my next digital camera. Right now I've narrowed the search to the following 4. The Nikon Coolpix 5700, the Olympus E-20, the Sony DSC-F717, and the Minolta DiMAGE 7i. I have all the technical specifications on the cameras. What I'd like is information you might have on the ease of use and the quality of photographs the camera produces. One last thing, someone just told me that all you really need in 5 mega pixels, that 6 mega pixels is over kill. What do you think about that?

Thanks.

JRB :P

Hi,

I am not a digital camera user, but when you ask about megapixels I think negative size. The first stage to good photography is the negative / slide / file size. Good old 35mm film if it was measured in megapixels would come out at around 36mp. The quality of the final image is determined by this how you view the image will determine if you need the bigger format. for example, if you print only A5 prints the smaller will do, but, if you want to make billboard prints you will need the bigger. To see the difference take an image and resise it to a smaller demention. then try to get it to fill your screen, you will see how the quality will fall off dramatically, just like enlarging a 110mm and 35mm negative to the same size,

Alan

:P

Hi Jrb!

It's a very difficult choice, and I don't want to influence you with my personal taste...

I think the best way to do a meditated choice is to read some good reviews about these cameras. Sapor's site is very interesting; you can find a more "technical" approach, with many lab tests (but also with many pictures in original size) in Digital Photography Review, very serious and professional.

Hi