WnSoft Forums

Virus Protection - Norton versus AVG

Ronniebootwest

I have been using Norton Anti-Virus for a few years now and have been more than satisfied, However, just recently I have been encountering problems with my system and in particular, with Norton virus scanning. I won't go into detail here but I now want to ditch Norton and switch to AVG and have some questions that I hope will be answered by members of this forum:-

1. I am told that uninstalling Norton can be tricky. Advice on what I need to do would be appreciated.

2. In the meantime, can I install and run AVG with Norton still on my computer?

3. Which version of AVG is recommended - the Free package or the paid version?

Thanks for any help that can be offered.

Ron

Ronnie,

The subject you just raised is sheer "dynamite" and with respect to others who may read the

responses to your 'questions' I would like to issue a GENERAL WARNING-UNINSTALLING NORTON.

Procedure

1)

Before removing Norton disconnect your PC from the Internet ~ pull out the Internet connection.

2)

Make sure you have an alternative Anti-Virus Program in Zip Format ready for Installation.

3)

Norton CAN NOT be removed with the Add/Remove Program Utility in Control-Panel) on your PC.

(This procedure purely disables the many exe.Files in Norton) and thereafter it "nags-you" about

re-installation.

4)

Norton MUST BE removed with a Norton Installation Disc or a Norton Dowload Utility.

5)

After running the REMOVE UTILITY then you run the Add/Remove Program Utility.

6)

SymantecFiles:-Somewhere in your PC there is a System Folder called 'Common Files' and

within that special Folder you will find a Folder called 'Symantec Shared' .

You will have to delete the 'Symantec Shared' Folder....extreme care needed.

7)

Clean-up:- You then need to do a 'Search' or 'Find' for Files named Norton and Symantec and

delete these remnant Files. Then you need to run a 'Registry Cleaner' like Win.IOBit to remove